Church of the Ascension

About Us

stained glass.jpg

Photo: the day of Pentecost
depicted in stained glass

Where we came from

History of our church

The roots of this congregation can be traced to 1843 and the missionary efforts of the Rev. Greenbury W. Ridgely and the Rt. Rev. Alfred Lee, who conducted services every other Sunday in the Claymont Stone School. The church was named for the Church of the Ascension in New York City and we were accepted into the Episcopal Diocese of Delaware as an organized congregation on May 28, 1851. The Rev. Ridgely was elected the first Rector. The first church building was erected on property donated by the Rev. John B. Clemson, on the corner of Church Lane and Philadelphia Pike and was consecrated by Bishop Lee on September 14, 1854. During the long and beloved leadership of the Rev. Charles Rantz the church building was moved across the street to its present location in 1927, and connected to the newly constructed stone parish hall.

As the congregation prospered in the 1960s under the leadership of the Rev. John C. Scobell, the church was substancially enlarged. A new wing for Sunday School rooms and offices was also constructed. The nave and sanctuary were further renovated with the addition of a rose window over the altar and thirteen stained glass windows between 1979 and 2001.The organ was renovated and dedicated on May 18, 2003.

The congregation continues to flourish and to stay true to its original mission of proclaiming the good news of Jesus Christ in service to our community.

New heading


The Rev. Dr. Ketlen Solak - BCM Rector

The Rev. Chris Moore - Asst to the Rector

 The Rev. Dr. Ed Pease - Asst to the Rector

The Rev. Deacon Marta Illueca - Curate


Pictured from left to right: Chris Moore, Ketlen Solak, and Ed Pease


  • Sandra Pierce - Music Director/Organist
  • Lyndie Mozzoni - Admin Staff, Treasurer
  • Chrissie Lockwood - Admin Staff, Sexton


Chris Tomasetti - Senior Warden
Deborah Steele - Junior Warden
Lyndie Mozzoni - Treasurer
Chrissie Lockwood - Vestry Clerk

BCM Representatives:

  • Chris Tomasetti
  • Deborah Steele
  • Sarah Hearn
  • Ann Archer

Convention Representatives:


  • Chrissie Lockwood
  • Beth FitzPatrick


  • Sarah Hearn
  • Carol Middleton

Young Adult Delegate:

Timaree Poteat

Vestry Members

Vestry Members:

  • Barbara Berheide (2020)
  • Chris Tomasetti (2020)
  • Cheryl Datillo (2021)
  • Beth FitzPatrick (2021)
  • Janet Middleton (2021)
  • Genia Thomas (2021)
  • Jen Glass (2022)
  • Babak Golgolab (2022)
  • Gail Mummert (2022)
  • Deborah Steele (2022)

Other Ministry Leaders

Children, Youth & Family -  Beth FitzPatrick

Communications -  Lyndie/Chrissie 

Giving: Electronic & Planned; Fundraising; Stewardship - Chris, Beth, Janet, Chrissie, Genia

Invite, Welcome, Connect: Hospitality, Spiritual Development - Cheryl, Genia, Jen

Outreach/Community Events - Barbara, Chris, Gail

Property & Maintenance -  Janet

Rebulit Book -  Cheryl, Gail, Genia, Janet, Jen

Become a Member of Ascension

Grace Episcopal Church

Episcopal Church of the Ascension

Calvary Hillcrest Episcopal Church

Connect with the BCM

Get In Touch

Visiting us? Planning an event? Have a matter of faith to ask?

Join Our Mailing List

* indicates required